CPU 100% GPU 0% when extracting and training.

The Extraction process failing on you, and you aren't getting an error back with clear instructions? Tell us about it here


Forum rules

Read the FAQs and search the forum before posting a new topic.

This forum is for reporting errors with the Extraction process. If you want to get tips, or better understand the Extract process, then you should look in the Extract Discussion forum.

Please mark any answers that fixed your problems so others can find the solutions.

Locked
User avatar
joshua940508
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:07 am
Answers: 1

CPU 100% GPU 0% when extracting and training.

Post by joshua940508 »

I watched nvidia smi, but it shows up this
It's not working at all
I used both Mtcnn and S3fd
both only used cpu but not gpu
It only runs 23 eg/s

Code: Select all

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 457.30       Driver Version: 457.30       CUDA Version: 11.1     |
|-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name            TCC/WDDM | Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|                               |                      |               MIG M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
|   0  GeForce GTX 165... WDDM  | 00000000:09:00.0  On |                  N/A |
|  0%   46C    P8    12W / 100W |    985MiB /  4096MiB |      3%      Default |
|                               |                      |                  N/A |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Processes:                                                                  |
|  GPU   GI   CI        PID   Type   Process name                  GPU Memory |
|        ID   ID                                                   Usage      |
|=============================================================================|
|    0   N/A  N/A      1060    C+G   ...bbwe\Microsoft.Photos.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      1196    C+G   Insufficient Permissions        N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      1204    C+G   Insufficient Permissions        N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      1552    C+G   ...TeamViewer\TeamViewer.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      4624    C+G   ...d\app-0.0.309\Discord.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      6904    C+G   ...ram Files\LGHUB\lghub.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      7720    C+G   Insufficient Permissions        N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      8320    C+G   Insufficient Permissions        N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      8880    C+G   C:\Windows\explorer.exe         N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      9552    C+G   ...artMenuExperienceHost.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A      9972    C+G   ...5n1h2txyewy\SearchApp.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     10724    C+G   ...zf8qxf38zg5c\SkypeApp.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     11000    C+G   ...nputApp\TextInputHost.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     11088    C+G   ...perience\NVIDIA Share.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     12912    C+G   ...t\Teams\current\Teams.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     13368    C+G   ...y\ShellExperienceHost.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     13420    C+G   ...in7x64\steamwebhelper.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     15104    C+G   ...me\Application\chrome.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     15996    C+G   ...t\Teams\current\Teams.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     16788    C+G   ...ge\Application\msedge.exe    N/A      |
|    0   N/A  N/A     18320    C+G   ...5n1h2txyewy\SearchApp.exe    N/A      |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
by joshua940508 » Mon Jan 18, 2021 10:51 pm

After a day, I fixed it somehow.
I changed the chcp to 65001, since I saw a recommendation pops up when running setup.py.

Code: Select all

INFO    Skipping Cuda/cuDNN checks for Conda install
INFO    1. Install PIP requirements
        You may want to execute `chcp 65001` in cmd line
        to fix Unicode issues on Windows when installing dependencies

But I also upgraded the cudnn to the latest one in conda.
I don't know which one fixed the issue, but if you have the same problem, try these two things above.
now i can run 10it/s

Although the "you may want to execute chcp 65001" and "Skipping Cuda/cuDNN" still pops up, it works fine when extracting and training.

Go to full post
User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 159
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 622 times

Re: CPU 100% GPU 0% when extracting and training.

Post by torzdf »

My word is final

User avatar
joshua940508
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:07 am
Answers: 1

Re: CPU 100% GPU 0% when extracting and training.

Post by joshua940508 »

After a day, I fixed it somehow.
I changed the chcp to 65001, since I saw a recommendation pops up when running setup.py.

Code: Select all

INFO    Skipping Cuda/cuDNN checks for Conda install
INFO    1. Install PIP requirements
        You may want to execute `chcp 65001` in cmd line
        to fix Unicode issues on Windows when installing dependencies

But I also upgraded the cudnn to the latest one in conda.
I don't know which one fixed the issue, but if you have the same problem, try these two things above.
now i can run 10it/s

Although the "you may want to execute chcp 65001" and "Skipping Cuda/cuDNN" still pops up, it works fine when extracting and training.

User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 159
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 622 times

Re: CPU 100% GPU 0% when extracting and training.

Post by torzdf »

The checks should be skipped (Ultimately FS doesn't care about global cuda/cuDNN as we install it inside the environment). Global installs can cause conflict.

The fix would have been cuDNN, not the codepage thing, but I'm glad you got it sorted.

My word is final

Locked