Page 1 of 1

"Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinstall

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2023 9:50 pm
by cedenburn

Deleted the programs as required. following the guide lines givwn cuda, minaconda 3 and Faceswap. Installed a a 4080 and getting this when I attempt to update. I have already done this with a 4070 TI without issue. It works but will not apparently update.

Thank you.


Re: "Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinsta

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2023 10:08 pm
by torzdf

Yeah, that part appears to have broken.

I'm currently working on rebasing the code to newer TF and Python, which will require a full re-install anyway, so that fix will be issued as part of that.


Re: "Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinsta

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2023 12:37 am
by cedenburn

Thank you for the update.


Re: "Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinsta

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2023 10:50 am
by torzdf

Ok, this update has been pushed. You will need to get the latest installer from:
https://github.com/deepfakes/faceswap/releases

You can copy the .ini files from the .config folder if you want to keep your settings (then place them back in the .config folder of the new install)

I recommend running these steps prior to re-installing:
app.php/faqpage#f1r1

There may be bugs. It was a fairly hefty overhaul. Please start a new thread if you hit any.


Error updating Faceswap: Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo.

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2023 7:10 pm
by MaxHunter

Results After updating when trying to check for updates in the GUI:

Code: Select all

06/27/2023 15:09:11 INFO     Checking for updates...
06/27/2023 15:09:11 INFO     Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates

Some tests updating manually:

Code: Select all

(base) C:\Users\e4978>conda activate faceswap
(faceswap) C:\Users\e4978>cd faceswap
(faceswap) C:\Users\e4978\faceswap>git pull

fatal: detected dubious ownership in repository at 'C:/Users/e4978/faceswap'
'C:/Users/e4978/faceswap' is owned by:
        'S-1-5-32-544'
but the current user is:
        'S-1-5-21-2881009722-1537911487-4253915951-1001'
To add an exception for this directory, call:

        git config --global --add safe.directory C:/Users/e4978/faceswap

(faceswap) C:\Users\e4978\faceswap>
 ! Message from: torzdf

Edited for additional information


Re: Error updating Faceswap: Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo.

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2023 10:18 am
by torzdf

I am going to test whether I can recreate, or whether this is user specific.

However, you can fix the issue yourself, as per the message output with:

Start > Anaconda prompt

Code: Select all

git config --global --add safe.directory C:/Users/e4978/faceswap

Re: "Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinsta

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2023 9:45 pm
by bba20

I have the same problem. I just reinstalled and says git not installed when I check for updates. Also the update broke my previous install so I had to reinstall.


Re: "Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinsta

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2023 9:45 pm
by torzdf

The ability to update is due to a change in the way Microsoft handles git installs and file ownership. I am working on a fix.

A full re-install is unavoidable for this release of Faceswap, due to moving to a more recent version of Python.


Re: "Git is not installed or you are not running a cloned repo. Unable to check for updates" After deleting and reinsta

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2023 1:55 am
by torzdf

This bug should be fixed...

To pull in the update you can do:

Start > Anaconda Prompt

Code: Select all

conda activate faceswap
cd faceswap
git pull

If you get an error about folder ownership, you can copy and paste the command it gives you to fix and then run git pull again