How to use manual alignments tool?

Want to know about the Faceswap's Face Extraction process? Got tips, ideas or just want to learn about how it all works? Then this is the place for you


Forum rules

Read the FAQs and search the forum before posting a new topic.

This forum is for discussing tips and understanding the process involved for Extracting and preparing face sets for training a model in Faceswap.

If you have found a bug are having issues with the Extraction process not working, then you should post in the Extract Support forum.

Please mark any answers that fixed your problems so others can find the solutions.

Locked
User avatar
sul1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:19 pm

How to use manual alignments tool?

Post by sul1 »

Hi,

I’m trying to follow this tutorial : https://faceswap.dev/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=27 on how to extract frames and clean alignment files but I’m stuck at the manual cleaning step. I think there is something I don’t understand with this tool.

When I click on "Alignments", three windows pop up. One with my frames, one called "Faces" with four black boxes, and one called "Help".

So I tried to press the "m" key to switch the mode from view and edit, but nothing happens when I do so. I have no idea what mode I’m in.

I also tried to press "s" until the skip-mode is set to "multi-faces", but I don’t see anything changing on my screen.

In what window should I press these keys?
I might be missing something obvious...


User avatar
slothgirl4996
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: How to use manual alignments tool?

Post by slothgirl4996 »

I was just searching info about this because I also really don't understand how the tool works :cry:
When I press 'm' a read box appears around the 3 windows, but nothing else.
I press 's' but I don't see anything on the screen change. If I click on the face some wiggly lines appear but I do not understand how to modify them or what I should be doing


User avatar
GrandSmuff
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 2:56 pm

Re: How to use manual alignments tool?

Post by GrandSmuff »

The skip mode and the view mode are shown on the help window at the bottom.

Screenshot_(3)_LI.jpg
Screenshot_(3)_LI.jpg (177.08 KiB) Viewed 3460 times

User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 124
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 268 times

Re: How to use manual alignments tool?

Post by torzdf »

Image

My word is final


User avatar
slothgirl4996
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:07 pm

Re: How to use manual alignments tool?

Post by slothgirl4996 »

I get it, my screen is too small for the Help menu so I can't read anything after "Save alignments" and the windows can't be resized sadly.
Anyway I know now to count how many times I press S and so I know in which mode I am on :)


User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 124
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 268 times

Re: How to use manual alignments tool?

Post by torzdf »

Yeah, unfortunately this is a limitation of OpenCV (What we use to display the windows on the screen).

A complete reworking of the manual tool with a proper GUI is on the TODO list, but it is some way off.

My word is final


Locked