Why extract using GPU but low usage?

Want to know about the Faceswap's Face Extraction process? Got tips, ideas or just want to learn about how it all works? Then this is the place for you


Forum rules

Read the FAQs and search the forum before posting a new topic.

This forum is for discussing tips and understanding the process involved for Extracting and preparing face sets for training a model in Faceswap.

If you have found a bug are having issues with the Extraction process not working, then you should post in the Extract Support forum.

Please mark any answers that fixed your problems so others can find the solutions.

Locked
User avatar
vietnguyen
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:13 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Why extract using GPU but low usage?

Post by vietnguyen »

Hi guys,

I have an NVIDIA card and I use it to extract progress but why my task manager always show my GPU only 1-5% usage during extracting time? I extract 1 minute mp4 file and it took almost 12 hours, did I have done something wrong?

Image

by torzdf » Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:47 am Go to full post

User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 125
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Re: Why extract using GPU but low usage?

Post by torzdf »

My word is final


User avatar
bryanlyon
Site Admin
Posts: 615
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:49 am
Answers: 40
Location: San Francisco
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 158 times
Contact:

Re: Why extract using GPU but low usage?

Post by bryanlyon »

While Torzdf is absolutely right, the answer to low displayed usage is in the FAQ. You do seem to be running on CPU mode (I can tell due to the 17sec/iter speed your screenshot shows).

This could be due to using a 7xx series card (I'm not sure how well that would work as we've only tested back to 9xx series). It could also be due to a misinstalled CPU only version. See viewtopic.php?f=5&t=309 for more information on that.

To solve this, first try to reinstall.

If that doesn't work, then please output your system information and provide it in a new thread:

GUI Users: Go to Help -> Output system information

CLI Users: From inside your virtual environment, inside your faceswap folder, run:
python -c "from lib.sysinfo import SysInfo ; print(SysInfo().full_info())"


Locked