How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Want to understand the training process better? Got tips for which model to use and when? This is the place for you


Forum rules

Read the FAQs and search the forum before posting a new topic.

This forum is for discussing tips and understanding the process involved with Training a Faceswap model.

If you have found a bug are having issues with the Training process not working, then you should post in the Training Support forum.

Please mark any answers that fixed your problems so others can find the solutions.

Post Reply
User avatar
rolnor
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:09 am
Been thanked: 2 times

How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by rolnor »

I have tried gtx1080 8gb, its to little. Will 2 cards tital 16gb be enough?


User avatar
rolnor
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:09 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?/please reply

Post by rolnor »

Please give me a reply, I am going to buy a new grafixcard now but I am not sure if its enough with 16gb. 8gb is clearly not enough for what I want to do.


User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 125
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 278 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by torzdf »

I don't know how much it needs. I do know that it trains fine on an RTX 2080Ti

People on our Discord claim it works on 8GB training on Linux

My word is final


User avatar
rolnor
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:09 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by rolnor »

Thanx for reply.
Is it possible it needs 11gb? Would then a gtx1080ti 11gb be enough? I uppgraded from a 1560 4gb to 1080 8gb but I am dissapointed, it is really very much the same limitations. These cards are so expensive I dont want to make the same mistake again.


User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 125
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 278 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by torzdf »

Honestly, your questions are hard to answer... you will always "need" more VRAM.

However, I have just tested training Dfaker @ 256px on Windows 10 on a GTX 1080 (8GB). I can confirm that it trains just fine with Mixed Precision enabled at batch size of 4 on this card.

My word is final


User avatar
rolnor
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:09 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by rolnor »

Thanx, thats just the answer I wanted. Then I just need to reduce the batch size instead of buying a new card, excellent!


User avatar
rolnor
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:09 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by rolnor »

Have you tried higher batchsize then 4 with the Dfaker 256pxs and GTX1080 8gb or is this the limmit? I just started with batchsize 4 and it runs nicely, thanx again.


User avatar
torzdf
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:53 am
Answers: 125
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 278 times

Re: How much memory do I need for 256 resolution Dfaker?

Post by torzdf »

I didn't test higher batchsizes. I just confirmed it ran.

My word is final


Post Reply